Welcome to the new LGAQ Policy Executive

Published: 26th June 2020

Today marked a major milestone for you and your LGAQ for the 2020-2024 term, the first official meeting of the new LGAQ Policy Executive.

The new members have been inducted and they are ready to serve.

I cannot stress enough that this is your Policy Executive. They were chosen by you and they are here to represent you.

In fact, these intrepid souls have faced not one but two elections in the last three months. Good on them.

There are nine new faces on the Policy Executive this term: Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council Mayor Jason Woibo, Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council Mayor Wayne Butcher, Flinders Shire Council Mayor Jane McNamara, Whitsunday Regional Council Mayor Andrew Willcox, Balonne Shire Council Cr Robyn Fuhrmeister, Western Downs Regional Council Mayor Paul McVeigh, Diamantina Shire Council Mayor Robbie Dare, Brisbane City Cr Peter Matic and Ipswich City Cr Paul Tully. Both Cr Tully and Cr Matic have had previous experience on the Policy Executive prior to the last term.

The returning faces from 2016-20 are LGAQ President and Sunshine Coast Council Mayor Mark Jamieson, Cairns Regional Council Mayor Bob Manning, Townsville City Council Mayor Jenny Hill, Gladstone Regional Council Mayor Matt Burnett, Bundaberg Regional Council Mayor Jack Dempsey and Redland City Council Mayor Karen Williams.

As you can see, your Policy Executive covers the entire length and breadth of Queensland and importantly includes the meaningful representation of Indigenous councils and women in the policy-making process.

At their inaugural meeting, as required by our constitution and rules, the Policy Executive elected Mayor Burnett, Mayor Williams and Mayor Hill to sit on the Board alongside the President, Mayor Jamieson. Together they will oversee the operations of the LGAQ and its broader business interests.

Additionally, Mayor Dempsey and Mayor Burnett were elected to represent the LGAQ on the Australian Local Government Association Board, with Mayor Williams to serve as the alternate representative for both directors.

The new faces reflect the evolving nature of local government and the LGAQ.

Your Association continues to evolve and renew itself to best reflect the interests of our member councils.

As the President said in his opening remarks at today’s meeting, your Policy Executive has been handed the baton of leadership for our sphere of government in Queensland for the next four years, carrying forward the hopes, traditions, and culture of our single united voice from those hundreds of men and women who have served on the Policy Executive over the past 124 years.

A copy of the President’s address is attached here.

Folks, the new four-year term of the LGAQ has well and truly begun.