News and Media

Journalism Award

$15,000 Bean Lockyer Ticehurst Award for Excellence in Regional Journalism

John Bean, Paul Lockyer and Gary Ticehurst were a well-liked and deeply respected crew out in the regions where they spent a lot of their time.

Their loss sparked an outpouring of dismay from regional leaders who knew the huge contribution they made to ensuring regional Queensland was given a voice and recognised for the contribution it made to public life.

The LGAQ commemorates them each year with this award for excellence in regional journalism and to encourage other journalists to adopt the doggedness and professionalism for which they were known.

The award

2023 will be the award’s twelfth year dedicated to showcasing excellence in reporting in regional Queensland.

The award is aimed at highlighting the importance of rigorous reporting and analysis of government business decisions affecting Queensland communities.

With one of the highest cash prizes on offer in Australian journalism awards, and with no entry fee required, the LGAQ Journalism Award is a prestigious and lucrative opportunity for journalists designed to highlight and draw attention to journalistic excellence in Queensland.

This regional award honours the work of Australian Broadcasting Corporation figures John Bean, Paul Lockyer and Gary Ticehurst, who lost their lives in a helicopter accident during 2011.


Award winners are chosen on the basis of journalistic excellence. Where they deem it necessary, the judges shall seek clarification that ethical methods were used to obtain or produce the material used in entries.

The criteria for judging entries will include newsworthiness, incisiveness, public benefit, and impact on the understanding of the issues and challenges facing regional Queensland.

The resources available to entrants and the dedication and diligence they have shown in ensuring their work is brought to public attention will also be taken into account.

The judges have the right to reject an entry, and their decisions are final.

The winner will be announced at the 2023 LGAQ Annual Conference

How to enter

You must complete and return this form with your entry, including the following details:

  • An overall title for your entry (to be used in all publicity)
  • Full and working (please double check!) URL/weblink address - supplied in email format as well as written
  • When and where the work appeared NOTE: Entry needs to have been published between 1 July 2022 and 30 June 2023.

Entries may be:

  • Print
  • Television/Video
  • Online format
  • Radio

Submitting your work in online format is preferred. If your work appears online, is available for public viewing and will remain unaltered for the judging period – from August to October – providing a URL link is sufficient (publication date must be specified in the application form).

Print entries eg newspaper articles can be submitted via email in PDF format.

MP3 files are sufficient for submitted radio stories, however, they must be accompanied by a copy of the transcript.

Video format must be rendered into Youtube/Vimeo or able to be rendered into this format. If you are unable to provide this, you may mail four (4) copies of your entry on four (4) separate CD/DVD's to:

LGAQ Journalism Award 2023
PO Box 2230
Fortitude Valley BC Qld 4006

Terms and conditions of entry

These conditions are non-negotiable. They must be strictly adhered to.

  1. Entries may consist of one article or radio or television report or a series of up to five articles or radio or television reports that are representative of a body of work.
  2. A group entry may comprise up to five individuals. All major contributors should be included and all names provided to be eligible.
  3. Entries must have been published or broadcast between 1 July 2022 and 30 June 2023.
  4. Entry is open to all Australian residents but all entries must contain work that is relevant to regional issues being faced in Queensland.
  5. All entrants are required to establish their bona fides and that they have adhered to the Media Alliance Code of Ethics in the preparation of the submitted piece.
  6. Each entry must be verified by a representative of the employer/commissioning publication.
  7. All entries should include a statement of up to 200 words outlining the case for consideration of an award.
  8. Entries will be accepted until COB Friday 15 September 2023.

LGAQ Communications Team
1300 542 700

Previous finalists and winners newsfeed
View more finalists and winners