Find Your Council

In Queensland, there are 77 local governments that cover the length and breadth of our state. These local government areas are classified as Cities, Regions or Shires. In Queensland there is also one Town Authority (Weipa Town Authority).

The nature and extent of each council’s responsibilities and powers is lawfully outlined within the Local Government Act 2009 to ensure that the system of local government in Queensland is accountable, effective, efficient and sustainable. The Act applies to all councils except Brisbane City Council whose legal and policy principles are contained within the City of Brisbane Act 2010.

Local government plays an important role in community governance. As a forum for local decision-making, it helps deliver the Queensland Government's priorities locally and regionally. For more information on how local government operates and is regulated visit the Department of Local Government, Racing and Multicultural Affairs (DLGRMA) website.

DLGRMA: Search the Queensland local government directory