Entries open for LGAQ’s $15,000 reporting prize

Published: 4th August 2022

Entries have opened for Queensland’s richest reporting prize, the Bean Lockyer Ticehurst Award for Excellence in Regional Journalism.

The Local Government Association of Queensland (LGAQ) gives the annual $15,000 award in honour of ABC cameraman John Bean, journalist Paul Lockyer and chopper pilot Gary Ticehurst who tragically died in a helicopter crash while on assignment in 2011.

LGAQ Chief Executive Officer Alison Smith said the trio were a pioneering storytelling team with the ABC, popular and respected throughout the regional communities where they did their best work.

“Their tragic deaths sparked dismay in regional leaders who understood the huge contribution they made to ensuring regional Queensland was given a voice, locally and in the offices of decision-makers in the city,” Ms Smith said.

“The LGAQ commemorates John, Paul and Gary with this annual award, and to encourage journalists to adopt the doggedness and professionalism for which they were renowned.”

The award is open to print, television/video, online and radio, with judging criteria including newsworthiness, incisiveness, public benefit, and impact on the understanding of the issues and challenges facing regional Queensland.

The winner will be announced at the LGAQ’s Annual Conference in Cairns in October.

Last year’s winner, Country Caller founder and journalist Harry Clarke said the award had helped him invest in more journalism in regional Queensland.

“Winning the Bean Lockyer Ticehurst Award was an enormous honour which provided a huge boost to my career,” Mr Clarke said.

“Needless to say, the prize money is incredibly generous. It's allowed me to continue investing in my project of providing independent news to underserved rural and regional communities.

“On top of the recognition, merely being invited to attend the LGAQ's Annual Conference to receive the award was a terrific networking opportunity. 

“It's great that the LGAQ recognises the importance of strong journalism in the bush, and also the lives and contributions of three highly respected journalists.”

For entry, terms and conditions, visit www.lgaq.asn.au/journalism-award

Entries close Friday 16 September 2022.

For more information, please contact:

Dan Knowles, Media Advisor
Phone: 0432 681 664
Local Government Association of Queensland