banner column

Latest Updates

LGAQ Media Award open and seeking entries

Thursday, 5 July 2018

The Local Government Association of Queensland is calling for entries for the 2018 Bean Lockyer Ticehurst Award for Excellence in Regional Journalism, offering a cash prize of $15,000.

The award, now in its seventh year of inception and one of the nation’s richest media prizes, recognises the best and brightest pursuing journalism excellence in regional Queensland.

Entries must have been published or broadcast between 30 June 2017 and 1 July 2018.

Entries are open to all Australian residents but must contain work that is relevant to regional issues being faced in Queensland.

LGAQ chief executive Greg Hallam said the award was important as it put regional journalism front and centre as an example of the craft that can make a positive difference to peoples’ lives.

“High quality journalism in the regions matters more than ever because the challenges facing local communities in the bush and regional centres have never been greater,’’ he said.

Previous award winners have covered topics as diverse as the impact road fatalities have on small local communities to the ongoing pressures of drought on rural families.

The award was established to honour the work of Australian Broadcasting Corporation figures John Bean, Paul Lockyer and Gary Ticehurst, who lost their lives in a helicopter crash in 2011.

Entries close Friday 31 August, 2018.

For more information on terms and conditions of entry visit:



Local Government Association of Queensland
LG House, 25 Evelyn Street, Newstead Qld 4006


The list content on this page is updated dynamically as articles are published.