LGAQ news award finalists named

Published: 13th September 2016

Three Queensland reporters are vying for the LGAQ’s journalism award for their coverage of controversial land-clearing laws, a water contamination crisis and an Aboriginal community's efforts to preserve its culture.

Marty McCarthy (ABC), Rhian Deutrom (The Courier-Mail) and Zhanae Conway-Dodd (The Morning Bulletin) are finalists for the 2016 Bean Lockyer Ticehurst Award for Excellence in Regional Journalism.

With a prize of $15,000, it is the richest media award in Queensland.

“The LGAQ has an interest in ensuring all the communities we represent benefit from a strong media presence,” LGAQ Media Executive Craig Johnstone said.

“We received more than 20 entries for this award and all were of a very high standard, reflecting the quality of journalism in regional Queensland.”

Mr McCarthy produced a series of reports detailing the political and policy fights surrounding the State Government’s plans to reintroduced tough land clearing laws.

Ms Deutrom’s articles exposed the scandal arising from the contaminated water crisis in Oakey.

Ms Conway-Dodd’s reports highlighted the aspirations and personal stories of the local Darumbal people.