Queensland Award recognising DFV awareness and prevention leadership

Published: 10th August 2021

Nominations have opened for the Local Government Association of Queensland’s (LGAQ) second annual Alison Woolla Memorial Award for local leadership in preventing domestic and family violence.

The $5000 award honours Alison Woolla, the pioneering former Aurukun Shire Council Mayor, a trailblazer who provided remarkable leadership and support for members of her community when they were experiencing abuse. 

The award was launched by the LGAQ in 2020 to recognise an outstanding individual following in Alison Woolla’s footsteps and making a significant contribution to raising awareness and prevention of domestic and family violence in Queensland’s local communities. 

Alison Woolla’s daughter, current Aurukun Shire Council Mayor Keri Tamwoy, said she hoped the award would continue to stand for and celebrate the same qualities and values as her late mother did.  

LGAQ President and Sunshine Coast Council Mayor Mark Jamieson said he looked forward to honouring another deserving Queensland with this year’s award.

“Last year’s winners, May Ballie and Myrtle Foote, co-founded Pormpur Paanthu (Women’s House) in the Indigenous community of Pormpuraaw,” Mayor Jamieson said.

“Pormpur Paanthu provides refuge and services to women and children experiencing domestic and family violence. 

“May and Myrtle were deserving winners of the inaugural award, having been instrumental in saving the lives and improving the futures of many women and children in their community.”

Mayor Jamieson said Queensland councils were playing their part in raising awareness of domestic and family violence, championing a range of initiatives including the installation of Red Rose Foundation red benches, walks against violence and other community campaigns.

“This award is an opportunity for our local government family to further highlight its commitment to increasing domestic and family violence awareness and education by championing those individuals working hard to make a difference,” he said.

Award entries are now open. Entries close on 27 September 2021. 

The winner will be selected by a panel of LGAQ staff members and Mayor Tamwoy will be consulted on the final shortlist of entries.

For more information, please contact:
Sarah Vogler, Media Executive