banner column

News Release Archives

LGAQ Media Award deadline for entries extended

News Release

Tuesday, 3 September 2019

The Local Government Association of Queensland has extended the entry deadline for the 2019 Bean Lockyer Ticehurst Award for Excellence in Regional Journalism, offering a cash prize of $15,000.

Image courtesy: Tourism and Events Queensland

The award, now in its eighth year and one of the nation’s richest media prizes, recognises the best and brightest pursuing journalism excellence in regional Queensland.

Entries must have been published or broadcast between 30 June 2018 and 31 July 2019. The new deadline for lodging entries is COB Friday, 20 September 2019.

Entries are open to all Australian residents but must contain work that is relevant to regional issues being faced in Queensland.

LGAQ chief executive Greg Hallam said good regional journalism was more important than ever, given that the issues covered have a significant impact on the lives of people living in regional and remote places.

“The challenges facing local communities in the bush and regional centres range from the impact of drought to sustainable employment and the impact of greater connectivity on small economies,’’ he said.

Previous award winners have covered topics as diverse as the impact road fatalities have on small local communities to the ongoing pressures of drought on rural families.

The award was established in 2011 to honour the work of Australian Broadcasting Corporation figures John Bean, Paul Lockyer and Gary Ticehurst, who lost their lives in a helicopter crash.

Visit the Awards webpage for more information on terms and conditions of entry.

Local Government Association of Queensland
LG House, 25 Evelyn Street, Newstead Qld 4006


The list content on this page is updated dynamically as articles are published.