banner column

News Release Archives

LGAQ Media Award open and seeking entries

News Release

Thursday, 18 July 2019

The Local Government Association of Queensland is calling for entries for the 2019 Bean Lockyer Ticehurst Award for Excellence in Regional Journalism, offering a cash prize of $15,000.

The award, now in its eighth year and one of the nation’s richest media prizes, recognises the best and brightest pursuing journalism excellence in regional Queensland.

Entries must have been published or broadcast between 30 June 2018 and 31 July 2019.

Entries are open to all Australian residents but must contain work that is relevant to regional issues being faced in Queensland.

LGAQ chief executive Greg Hallam said good regional journalism was more important than ever given that the issues covered have a significant impact on the lives of people living in regional and remote places.

“The challenges facing local communities in the bush and regional centres range from the impact of drought to sustainable employment and the impact of greater connectivity on small economies’’ he said.

LGAQ President, Mayor Mark Jamieson w/ 2018 Bean Lockyer Ticehurst Award winner Derek Barry, North West Star

Previous award winners have covered topics as diverse as the impact road fatalities have on small local communities to the ongoing pressures of drought on rural families.

The award was established in 2011 to honour the work of Australian Broadcasting Corporation figures John Bean, Paul Lockyer and Gary Ticehurst, who lost their lives in a helicopter crash.

Entries close 31 August.

For more information on terms and conditions of entry visit:

Local Government Association of Queensland
LG House, 25 Evelyn Street, Newstead Qld 4006


The list content on this page is updated dynamically as articles are published.