banner column

Latest Updates

« Back

Palaszczuk Government announces new cabinet

Tuesday 12 December 2017

New cabinet unfolds

On Friday, Premier Anastacia Palaszczuk claimed victory almost two weeks after the Queensland election with a total of 48 seats in the new 93 seat parliament.

Here’s the rundown of the new portfolios and what they mean for local government: 



Key Changes of Interest

Annastacia Palaszczuk

Premier and Minister for Trade

Addition of Trade portfolio

Jackie Trad 

Deputy Premier, Treasurer and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships

Addition of Department of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships

Cameron Dick

Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning and Minister for Manufacturing

New Department of State Development, Manufacturing, Infrastructure and Planning

Kate Jones 

Minister for Innovation, Minister for Tourism Industry Development, and Minister for the Commonwealth Games

International education is a new responsibility

Yvette D'Ath

Attorney-General, Minister for Justice and Leader of the House


Steven Miles

Minister for Health and Minister for Ambulance Services


Grace Grace

Minister for Education and Minister for Industrial Relations


Mark Bailey

Minister for Transport and Main Roads

Transport and main roads under one minister instead of two

Anthony Lynham 

Minister for Natural Resources, Mines and Energy

New Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy. Addition of water responsibilities and reduces number of government agencies with an interest in water

Mick de Brenni

Minister for Housing and Public Works, Minister for Digital Technology and Minister for Sport


Shannon Fentiman

Minister for Employment and Small Business and Minister for Training and Skills Development

Addition of training and skills portfolio

Leeanne Enoch

Minister for Environment and the Great Barrier Reef, Minister for Science and Minister for the Arts

Retains responsibility for libraries

Mark Ryan 

Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services


Coralee O'Rourke

Minister for Communities and Minister for Disability Services and Seniors


Mark Furner

Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries


Stirling Hinchliffe

Minister for Local Government, Minister for Racing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs

New department of Local Government, Racing and Multicultural Affairs. Addition of Queensland Reconstruction Authority responsibilities *

Di Farmer

Minister for Child Safety, Youth and Women and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence


Craig Crawford 

Minister for Fire and Emergency Services


* LGAQ seeking clarification as administrative orders don't match government media release 

New Cabinet

A new local government minister: Stirling Hinchliffe will replace Mark Furner as the Minister for Local Government. His portfolio also includes racing and multicultural affairs.
Local government and planning has been split across two departments and ministers which may create challenges. 
A new speaker: Former Treasurer Curtis Pitt has been named speaker, replacing independent MP Peter Wellington who retired at the November 25 election.
A new treasurer: Deputy Premier Jackie Trad will step into the role of Treasurer.
A new economic team: The Premier will lead a four-member economic team of senior ministers to drive job growth across Queensland. 
The team includes: 
  • The Premier– who will add trade to her list of responsibilities along with chairing the Cabinet Budget Review Committee
  • Jackie Trad - who on top of her role as Deputy Premier and Treasurer has been appointed Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships
  • Cameron Dick - who will be appointed Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning and Minister for Manufacturing with responsibility for Economic Development Queensland. 
  • Kate Jones – who will add international education to her list of responsibilities and will also be appointed Minister for Innovation and Minister for Tourism Industry Development and will continue her role as Minister or the Commonwealth Games which is now only months away. 
In addition, there will be five Assistant Ministers:
  • Assistant Minister for Veterans Affairs and Assistant Minister of State Jennifer Howard 
  • Assistant Minister for Treasury Glenn Butcher
  • Assistant Minister for State Development Julieanne Gilbert 
  • Assistant Minister for Education Brittany Lauga
  • Assistant Minister for Tourism Industry Development Meaghan Scanlon 
Other new faces in Parliament
  • New independent member Sandy Bolton unseated former Newman Government minister Glen Elmes from the Sunshine Coast electorate of Noosa. 
  • Katter Australian Party member Nick Dametto unseated former Newman Government minister Andrew Cripps from the electorate of Hinchinbrook.
  • Greens Member Michael Berkman claimed victory on Friday after a close win against Labor’s Ali King to win the seat of Maiwar from Scott Emerson - former Newman Government minister and Shadow Treasurer (under Tim Nicholls).
  • One Nation Member Stephen Andrew unseated Labor MP Jim Pearce from the electorate of Mirani.

Local Government Association of Queensland
LG House, 25 Evelyn Street, Newstead Qld 4006


The list content on this page is updated dynamically as articles are published.